Why become a member? ×

guitar amps for bass....? (namely orange micro terror)

Guest Jecklin

Guest Jecklin

Ok, my amp knowledge is seriously reduced:
I stopped using amplifiers when I started playing the double bass 7 years ago.

However I'm now involved in a project where some amplification is required.
I'd love any insights from players here.

Specifically what are the compromises with using guitar amplifiers for amplifying bass instruments (not just bass guitar in this case)?

My guess would be reduced transient response and much lower headroom for a clean sound. The latter is not important as I'm looking for some distortion in the sound. The cabinet wont be a problem either.

I seem to remember when I was starting out playing bass guitar that I was told the transformers in guitar amps couldn't handle the frequencies involved (or some such rubbish), however I'll be using class D amps so there aren't really transformers to worry about, so it's more an issue about the voicing in the pre-amp. Can I expect a serious roll off?

To sum up I'm rather interested in the Orange Micro Terror and if anyone here has one for guitar, I'd be very obliged if you could run your bass through it and a bass cab and assess it's output in terms of bass frequencies and sound level. ie could you talk over it ( I don't need anything very loud as it is for an acoustic environment, but it needs some oomph to handle a large dynamic range). I'd need to know what those 20watts relate to in real world terms.

Cheers
Thomas