Why become a member? ×

Is there any way of changing a standard 3 pin plug to a kettle lead connection?

I'm wondering this because I'm going to be getting a power distributor/monitor (the Samson PB10Pro) which has 10 kettle lead (or the technical term IEC I think they're called) connections on the back of it but 3 of the units I use have standard in the wall plugs on the end of the cables so I was wondering if it's safe to put a kettle lead end on in stead of the plug and whether it would work or not?

CHHHHHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERS

[quote name='StevieD_FenderP2009' post='1373145' date='Sep 14 2011, 01:00 PM']Ah right cool, without risk of sounding stupid, is it as easy as just taking the plug off and putting the kettle lead end on? what about the fuse that's inside a normal plug?
cheers guys[/quote]

Im no expert so cant answer the fuse thing 100% but im guessing you power block should have a fuse/fuses in it.

You do get different styles of plug, although they should all be the same fit, ive found that some are better than others, plus some have a groove down the middle. You dont need that type although they should work ok. You can also get high power rated ones but ive never needed to use one like that.

I just get the standard ones from Maplins and these seem to work ok.

As far as wiring goes its just the usual 2 or 3 wires, just like a mains plug. A few things ive brought have had those moulded plugs on them, i just cut them off and put a kettle plug on the end.

Edited by dave_bass5

Best if you use something like these. The screw terminals in wired IEC plugs - Thats what theyre called - are usually pretty crap, and you cant trust the cord grip. Dont forget they aint fused either.

[url="http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5m-Kettle-Extension-Power-Lead-Cable-C13-C14-Socket-/270596819329?pt=UK_Computing_CablesConnectors_RL&hash=item3f00d3c981"]http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5m-Kettle-Extens...=item3f00d3c981[/url]