Why become a member? ×

New to Basschat

RAM

Hi all,

Glad to be here.

A little about me: I've been playing bass since summer, 1983. My first bass hero was John Entwistle, second was Geddy Lee, and I've since branched out to many, many players, finding something interesting in almost any non-country bassist I hear on the radio.

My current gear includes 2 basses: US Spector NS-4 and a Jerzy Drozd Mastery VI; amp: Avalon VT-737sp, powered by a Stewart World 2.1, into an Epifani 4-10 UL; I have 2 effects pedals (both Fulltone) BassDrive and ChoralFlange; and misc. gear includes an x2digitalwireless stomp box, a Peterson Strobostomp II, and a Shure PSM-200 IEM wireless system.

My band plays only covers, mainly older stuff, ranging from The Who to Ben Harper (okay...not so old). We have fun and don't expect to make a living at this; we call it our "poker night". It's actually a nice position to be in, in that we can dictate what we play, how we play it, and don't have to worry about "creative differences", which has broken up more than a couple of bands I've previously been in.

Hopefully I'll make a couple of friends around here, learn a few things, and maybe have something to say that someone will learn from; I sometimes have a bad habit of digging my heels in and arguing, but I do it only in good fun. I don't take myself too seriously.

Anyway, as I began this post, glad to be here!

Cheers! RAM

Hi Ram and welcome to the forum.

I love Chicago and have visited relatives their several times. We came over last year to my cousins wedding who runs Trinity Irish Dance Company which you may have heard of. They have some brilliant musicians playing for them. I was so inspired I bought a tin whistle when I got back to try to learn but not had much success yet.

Enjoy the forum, it has helped lots me since I recently joined.

Regards

Tony

Hi all,