Why become a member? ×

Fender Precision 1978 USA ** SOLD**

peteb

[attachment=45405:100_0830.JPG]Had this bass for ever and will be sorry to see it go but the truth is that I just don’t play it any more (gigged just once in the past 12 years or so) and I could do with something that I will actually play and I haven’t got the cash at the moment due to various reasons so I’m gonna have to let it go!

I’ve had this bass since about 1985. I believe that it’s a ’78 (serial number S757862). I originally got it as a spare for a ’77 Precision, but when I started playing active basses I kept this one as it was a bit lighter.

It’s got an EMG but I’m including the original Fender pick-up and it comes in a molded Fender case. It has the original bridge & hardware, complete with ashtray covers (both p/up & bridge). It plays and sounds like a good 70s Precision should – in fact far better than most! It has been worked on and set up by a top local guy (who has worked on guitars belonging to John Sykes & Scott Gorham from Thin Lizzy among others) and then set up again by the Bass Centre a few years ago.

It was originally what people here call Olympic white, which I was never too keen on. After seeing a Paul Rodgers gig, I decided to copy his bass player and striped it down to the wood, got someone to give it a light coat of lacquer & put a tort pickguard on. I thought it looked pretty cool, but obviously if I had known how much they were going be worth years later I would have left well alone!!

I don’t know what it is really worth as you don’t see many similar basses come up for sale. I’m asking for £850 but open to sensible offers by PM. No daft offers please – I’m only selling to fund another bass so I won’t let it go for silly money. I may be interested in potential trades, especially for a decent 4 string Stingray or possibly a good active Jazz type bass.