Why become a member? ×

PA setup help

Hello,

Looking for some help with PA setup. I'm new to this so haven't a clue.

We have 2 peavey 800x power amps. One powers some bose speakers, the other powers a bose bass bin. We also have a 16ch mixing desk.
Problem is speakers work fine, but we are getting next to no sound through through the bass bin. (signal is there)

The bass bin is plugged directly into the peavey with a DI and an audio jack. Both amps have been checked and work fine.

Any help greatly appreciated

:)

[quote name='bassbonehead' post='236240' date='Jul 10 2008, 01:24 AM']Hello,

Looking for some help with PA setup. I'm new to this so haven't a clue.

We have 2 peavey 800x power amps. One powers some bose speakers, the other powers a bose bass bin. We also have a 16ch mixing desk.
Problem is speakers work fine, but we are getting next to no sound through through the bass bin. (signal is there)

The bass bin is plugged directly into the peavey with a DI and an audio jack. Both amps have been checked and work fine.

Any help greatly appreciated

:)[/quote]

Is the bass bin active? I ask as you say there is a DI connector. If it is active it means that it has a built in power amp and will not need the Peavey to drive it just a line feed from the desk. If it has a mains power connector then it's active.

Dave

Any crossovers anywhere in the system? Normally you'd have some system in between the speaker outs from the desk, and the speakers, to split the frequencies - the highs and mids through the hi range speakers, and the bass end through the sub. If the sub isnt working hard, and the regular speakers are giving full range output, thats not ideal - you want to be able to drive the sub seperately, so you dont blow the hi range speakers out, and so you can turn up the sub to pump the bass higher.

No the bass bin is not active.
We are connecting the desk to the amps with the two cables supplied ( 3pin ????)
There is a crossover.