Why become a member? ×

EZ Mix - thoughts?

Mornats

Hey hallowed recording peeps, I record and mix my own tracks, and also those of my band and I'm considering EZ Mix. I've played around with the demo but haven't wanted to use it in earnest on a track as I'd lose the mix when the demo times out. So I've been doing it the hard/proper way - using the compressors, EQ and whatnot in Reaper, along with some third party plugins (t-racks classic) to mix the tracks with.

As I'm still fairly new to recording and mixing, and am currently working my way through Mike Senior's mixing for the small studio book, I'm always trying new techniques. I've already gone down the heavy effect use route and I'm not learning a bit more about how all the tools work (compressors are still bloody difficult to get right), so I'm now pulling back and really thinking about what an individual track needs before using it. I'm getting a bit better but have a way to go.

So anyway, I was looking at Nectar Elements (Time+Space are doing an intro offer of it for £29) which I'm going to buy for vocal processing. The reason? I find it very easy to over-do settings. So I feel that starting with the presets, then tweaking away will stop me from over-processing. That's my theory anyway, and it may be wrong. So I though, if I'm thinking that way about Nectar, then how about using EZ Mix in the same way? Mainly, I just want to not be a n00b and over-do stuff and ruin a track.

If you want an idea of my current skill level, check out anything recent on [url="https://soundcloud.com/beautiful-skin"]https://soundcloud.com/beautiful-skin[/url] and [url="https://soundcloud.com/mornats"]https://soundcloud.com/mornats[/url]. The latest tracks on each should give you an idea. I really just want to do justice to the tracks my band are recording!

So, is EZ Mix any cop or would I be wasting my time?

Hey Paul. Well, you can probably guess what I'm going to say... and that's practice, practice, practice! :D