Why become a member? ×
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

Improvisation on Bass?

Samashton12

Hey Guys,

Looking for help from a few of you BC veterans ;)

Any useful resources for helping with Improvisation on the bass? I can improvise in basic terms i just feel i'm stuck in the same "box".

I'm self taught and have only ever learnt my basic pentatonic shapes which i adapted from guitar?

Any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks,
Sam

[quote name='Samashton12' timestamp='1372853109' post='2130675']
Hey Guys,

Looking for help from a few of you BC veterans ;)

Any useful resources for helping with Improvisation on the bass? I can improvise in basic terms i just feel i'm stuck in the same "box".

I'm self taught and have only ever learnt my basic pentatonic shapes which i adapted from guitar?

Any help would be appreciated :)

Thanks,
Sam
[/quote]

Can you sing improvised stuff you want to hear? Either in your head or out loud.

The only way to translate your imagination into music through your instrument in a split second is to have great command and knowledge of your fretboard. You need to find the notes in your head on the board instantly and know what they are going to sound like. I'd recommend lessons with a very good tutor and learn theory. Thing is though, why do you WANT to improvise? And we have no idea of your current skill level.

[quote name='Samashton12' timestamp='1372853797' post='2130688']
I dont sing, ever ;) :ph34r: yeah, i just have difficulty translating that onto a fretboard :/
[/quote]