Why become a member? ×
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

What to play when a guitarist is playing 'bass'?

deejayen

I'm a very new beginner (I haven't even bought a bass yet), but I've been practising some bass lines from a book using my 6-string guitar. With the guitar, a lot of what I play will include some 'bass lines', and I'm wondering what a bassist would play to fit, and if there'd be any 'conflict' between the two instruments. For example, if I was playing something a bit like Chet Atkins would play on the guitar with a basic alternate bass pattern on the lower guitar strings. Or maybe a Johnny Cash song where Luther Perkins would be doing that boom-chicka thing on a Tele with a slap back echo. Would a bass player play exactly the same thing, or not…? Also, how easy is it to get the two instruments to gel (in terms of levels and frequency ranges) on a recording?

I've started to think about this because last night I was learning a very simple Motown bass line, and when I got tired of learning the bass I switched to playing rhythm guitar and found I was automatically adding almost the same bass line as written for the bass guitar with the same groove and feel on the main beats. One thing would be to simplify what I was playing on the guitar, and play strictly rhythm, but sometimes I might want to play what comes naturally, and the 'full range' guitar might be a fundamental part of the song.

Thanks for that. I’ll remember the hooky line!