Why become a member? ×

Bergantino IP112 + EX112

mcgraham

Well, given I've been using this rig for 4 years without change, I thought it was worth a short review explaining why.

[i][b]What is it?[/b][/i]
Bergantino are a high-end and highly-reliable small cab operation in the US. The IP series was their idea of a 'complete' amp solution - a great quality cab with a built in power amp optimised for use with THAT cabinet and tweaked to be optimal for bass playing. It's got subtle EQ and compression built in to make it just work with whatever you plug into it. It's so subtle you just won't notice. It saves all that jiggery pokery with modular setups to ensure a seamless setup, but with enough flexibility that allows you to 'colour' the system with your own preamp. It's small, relatively light, very portable, and sounds huge.

The IP112 also works with an extension cabinet EX112 to turn it into a line-array setup. Both are the same size, maybe an inch difference in depth.

Jim Bergantino produced this series for a number of years but IIRC it's been paused for the moment.

[i][b]What initially made me buy it?[/b][/i]
I like simplicity. This is about as simple as you can get without buying a combo, but even then as the only control on the amp itself is 'power amp volume' and 'tweeter control', it's far simpler than most combo amps.

I also like controlling everything from my bass. I don't like having to set-up multiple pedals or settings, or footswitches, etc. I just want to be able to plug into an amp and then it's up to me to make it work for whatever the application is. With a good bass, the IP is an uncoloured route to bass heaven.

[i][b]What made me keep it?[/b][/i]