Why become a member? ×

Cistom ?? CUSTOM ! Headless Through-neck.......mmmmm ........nice!

rogerds

[attachment=119861:ja 01.jpg]

[size=5][font=comic sans ms,cursive]Rare.... never seen another - although there is a review on Harmony Central....[/font][/size]
[url="http://www.harmonycentral.com/products/96461"]http://www.harmonyce.../products/96461[/url]

[size=5][font=comic sans ms,cursive]Made by 'Jay Armstrong' - all I could find is that he was a UK luthier working in the 70's - but obviously good at his craft when you look at this - anyone know of him ??[/font][/size]

[size=5][font=comic sans ms,cursive]Through neck construction - I'm no expert but ?maple neck with rosewood fretboard and mahogany body and all the hardware is brass - even the cover plate on the back, the strap buttons and the nut for the jack socket! [/font][/size]
[size=5][font=comic sans ms,cursive]I believe the pickups to be Kent Armstrong (thats 'proper' Kent Armstrong - not the ones made under licence) and even they are secured using bolts to a backing plate rather than just screws into the wood[/font][/size]
[size=5][font=comic sans ms,cursive]'Steinberger' type tuning as you can see from the pics and again, look at the way in which the tuning tailpiece is elegantly mounted and also the machining of the bridge and saddles [/font][/size]
[size=5][font=comic sans ms,cursive]Neck is 24 fret , is straight and truss rod turns OK. Scale length is standard 34". Width at the first fret is 1 5/8" (approx 41mm for younger viewers ;) ; and at the 12th fret 2 1/8" (54mm) The neck has a pleasant 'chunky' feel to it - difficult for me to measure (no micrometer gauge) but i would guess at 7/8" thick at nut; 1 1/8 at 12th fret with a flat feel to the fretboard and almost a semicircle shape / feel to the neck itself. [/font][/size]