Why become a member? ×

Processing piezo pickup output on DB

I am new to DB playing, but already have some gig work on the horizon, so need to amplify.
Have fitted a Shadow piezo p/u under the bridge. Firstly, I found it sounded much better with just one of the transducers in place (under the bridge's G string foot). With a piezo under both feet the sound was more nasal, almost like a phase cancelling effect.
The sound from the p/u will do, but I'm sure could be much improved. The DB is an old no-name east european thing which I picked up for 35 quid in a junk shop. I've had it; fingerboard skimmed, set up and a new bridge made by the great Roger Dawson. New d'Addario strings. It's accoustic tone is pretty restrained and lacking sustain on the lower strings, which I suspect is due to my poor technique and instrument quality in equal measure.
Is there a processor, e.g. SansAmp or something, which might extract a nice amplified acoustic DB sound for me?
I am using a Little Mark III and Mark Bass 1x12 for portability 'cos the bass fills up the rest of my car!

Edited by malcolm.mcintyre

Hi there, check all the threads on preamps in this section of the forum. Most recommend the Fishman Platinum Pro EQ and, to a lesser extent, the Headway EDB-1. Not only do these tone shape but they have useful frequency filters to cut out or at least minimise feedback.

[quote name='malcolm.mcintyre' post='1219616' date='May 4 2011, 10:39 AM']Thanks. The Shadow comes with a little battery powered pre-amp attached to the bass strings below the bridge. Would you take the output from that to a better pre-amp, or actually replace it?[/quote]
Hmm, I assumed you had a passive Shadow piezo. I had better step aside and let someone else step in with advice here!

Hey Malcolm.