Why become a member? ×

Just came across my first bass at a gig!

mcnach

Not technicaly my first bass, as I had had two others, that I never played. I had been playing guitar for ages and I thought it would be good to have some cheap bass to add to my crappy recordings. So I had a terrible Lyon P-bass copy and later a Squier P/J type that I never got a long with.

Then in 2005 a bass was placed in my hands on stage, and... I enjoyed it. So much so that soon afterwards I bought a bass with the firm intention of using it.
I bought a Jazz bass copy by Vintage. Black with tortoiseshell pickguard. This is the bass I consider to be my real first bass.

It was quite nice. I shielded it very well, replaced the pickguard with one made of black anodised metal, and installed a push/push switch for the parallel/series option.
I didn't use it so much. Then in 2007 I started playing bass in bands... and in 2008 I sold it. A move I regretted, because it was a very sweet bass. I sold it via gumtree to someone in my town.

Last night I was playing a gig locally, with two other bands. We were playing last and I ended up supplying bass amplification for all. When this guy comes to ask about the amp he was vaguely familiar, but didn't think much of it. I didn't pay attention during his soundcheck. Then... when the band played... I thought... wait a minute, I know that bass!!!
My old bass!!!
I must email him and tell him if he ever sells it, I want it back.

This is it, the way it was when I sold it:

Edited by mcnach

[quote name='Ou7shined' post='975257' date='Oct 2 2010, 06:17 PM']My thoughts were along those lines too when I read the title. :)

How did it sound when you heard it this time Jose?[/quote]

Children, behave!!! :)

It sounded... huge! Better than I remembered it! But then this guy plays better than I did at the time... and back then I was in a strange Polish death metal type of band (don't ask). :)