Why become a member? ×

Torn between two combos :blink:

Supertim

Hi all

newbie here just looking for a few comments on cheap combo amps. I have recently started gigging again after retiring from touring some 5 years ago.

I sold of most of my gear back then, however I have just joined a local Pub Rock covers band and I am looking at a budget combo for small venue gigs.

After a couple of hours of looking at various amps it is a tie between the HArtke A100 and the Ashdown EB 180 EVO II, both of which are retailing at under £300

Anyone use either of these amps and would care to pass comment on their long term reliability? Also anyone who has the Hartke amp, how does the sound work at high volume? I figure that by only using a 100W amp competing against 300W guitar amps I will need to utilise the higher end of the volume scale?

any comments on either of these Amps greatly appreciated. If it helps I used to play through a Galien Kruger classic head and used a Hartke 4x10 for small to medium sized gigs and a Ampeg 8x12 for arena shows

I have an EB-180. It was my first bass amp and I gigged plenty over a 2-3 year period with little bother. I found it to be very reliable, and have no complaints, I just replaced it because I fancied something bigger.

It competed well enough at small gigs against a noisy drummer and two 50W fender guitar amps, but it needed DIing at anything bigger. If you really are competing against 300W (!) guitar amps you'll struggle, but I'm assuming that's a typo for 30W?!

I still have the amp and keep meaning to shift it, if you're anywhere near Leeds then we could work something out? £120? I have some pictures somewhere....

FWIW, you might be better off looking at the F/S section on here for a budget combo - if you've got £300 to spend you're money will go much further than buying new.