Why become a member? ×

Out with the old.....

Bobo_Grimmer

Evening guys, Have a bit of a chin scratcher and i could do with some other idea and points of view. :lol:

I am a gigging bassist and jam a lot. My rig goes everywhere with me and i love it. I currently run a Trace Elliot RAH1000 with the matching BFC 1000W cab. It's awesome it really is but it's old, flakey and not as reliable as i'd like. Because of it's complexity it has been giving me some trouble on occasion with the bass end. It still works but is unreliable tonally. Now i don't want to go all techy as this isn't why i've posted this thread but i'd like to see what you would do in my situation. The Trace is so one of my dream amps and i feel so lucky to have one thing that i never thought i'd ever own. it's stereo throw is really wide and the cool delays pinging around the stage is awesome. I can run my old mono synth, 'The Jenny', though it as well as my bass And i have vocal effects running in there too! It's a crazy amp with so much on it. It's also really really loud! i mean super loud. i've never had trouble hearing it anywhere. Outside it sounds lovely and even in small venues at low level it still rumbles low and had clear highs.
But.... I had it serviced, in essex, a year or so ago and found out a little of the history of the AH1000 and it didn't fill me with confidence about how long my baby would last. :S The design of the RAH was complicated and had some 'gremlins' that haunted it's existence.
[I think maybe it was released before it should have been and maybe before some of the 'technical issues/bugs' were worked out.]
For those reasons my RAH seems to drop the bass end out, as if the bass amp section drops out leaving the two 250W amps running. I think that over in essex they have bit's to make about 4 or 5 of the RAH1000's but none of them seem to work.
I don't know of anyone else with a working RAH1000 and if they have any issues with it.