Why become a member? ×

Need an extra cab for my 200w trace head

Soloshchenko

Hi guys, as stated, I'm fairly new to bass from guitar and my understanding of amp power is awful.

I currently play through a 200w RMS trace head into a 1x15inch speaker. Recently also plugged into a 400w warwick cab (running two cabs from one head) and the sound was awesome.

Unfortunately the 4x10 Warwick is too big for gigging needs, do I still need to get something that is 400watts RMS?

Can anyone recommend a small 400watt cab which won't break the bank?

Cheers.

Was the tone you found awesome or the volume?

If it's volume you're looking for there's a number of reasons the Warwick would have been louder beyond just the rated wattage. For a start the Warwick was running into two cabs, and the 4x10 alone will shift more air than your 1x15 even before you take the second cab into account. The two cabs will probably be running at 4 ohms which will get the full rated power out of the amp - at 8 ohms it will only produce about two thirds of the rated power. Assuming your Trace is running into an 8 ohm cab you'll be getting about 130W out of it.

Unfortunately plugging your Trace into a cab rated at 400W, or even 4000W, won't necessarily make it any louder - it'll still knock out about 130W into 8 ohm load. There's more to volume than wattage, but your best bet to get an increase in volume is to add an additional cab to your rig

The wiki might be of some use (though it could probably do with some updating) [url="http://wiki.basschat.co.uk/info:amps:impedance_and_wattage"]http://wiki.basschat.co.uk/info:amps:impedance_and_wattage[/url]

Edited by Musky

[quote name='Musky' post='583595' date='Aug 28 2009, 02:44 PM']Was the tone you found awesome or the volume?