Why become a member? ×

Markbass SD800

Kongo

I've been using this amp head for a few months now and I've plugged it into every cab I could (rehearsal cabs are always different, can't have dibs on them unlike the head :rolleyes:) and MAN! After getting used to dial EQ (I'm used to Graphic) I got a aquality sound that's consistant with many cabs so this head is awesome!
It's also lighter than my BOSS ME-50B so it feels...When I first carried it I almost threw it it was so ultra light.
Massive headroom too...It's got a clip light but it doesn't show until your about 3 o'clock (tested only, I don't need it that loud!!!) and seems to have almost infinite headroom.

It's a shame they cost so much as I've built my tone on it for a few months now and it's not mine so one day we shall have to part ways. :)
Has anyone else here tried or owned one?
I'm well impressed!

I always wanted one but could never justify getting one. I started a thread a while ago about the SD1200. Now thats some power.
I found the tone to be tighter and a bit more sterile than my MB heads, with a very nice quick attack on the lower strings that my heads cant produce.
I "believe" the newer high powered heads (i wont say digital as i dont want to get in trouble with Alex ;-) use a different power stage and so are a bit warmer.
Nice head though and i would still like one but cant see me ever getting one now the LMIII800 is out.

[quote name='dave_bass5' post='494112' date='May 21 2009, 12:03 PM']I always wanted one but could never justify getting one. I started a thread a while ago about the SD1200. Now thats some power.
I found the tone to be tighter and a bit more sterile than my MB heads, with a very nice quick attack on the lower strings that my heads cant produce.
I "believe" the newer high powered heads (i wont say digital as i dont want to get in trouble with Alex ;-) use a different power stage and so are a bit warmer.