Why become a member? ×

CAB(s) to go with my MiBass 2.0?

Hi All, 

Complete newbie in this, so please bear with me. Recently bought a MiBass 2.0 and now would like a cab(or cabs) to do it justice. I'm not a band player and will only use my kit at home , but still would like gig capability. 

The unit is rated 600w and

8 Ohms and has two speaker output jack sockets.

I've spoken to various manufacturers,  but found them unhelpful,  strangely!

I would be very grateful if anyone could give me an idea of my options - do I need to have a separate cab plugged into each output?  Can I have, for example, a 2 x 10" (or 2 x12") speaker cab plugged into each output jack socket?

Do I need specific bass connection leads from guitar to amp? Do I need specific leads from Amp to speaker cabs.

Sorry if this all seems like idiot questions  - what can I say?

Cheers

Pete

What's your budget?

Are you wanting one cab or go modular with two smaller ones?

You can use one cab or two.  If you're using a single cab, it can be 4 ohm or 8 ohm impedance and you use a single cable from the amp to the cab in either socket.  If you're using two cabs, they must be 8 ohms each (together that make for a 4 ohm total impedance) and you can either use two cables out of the amp, one to each cab, or most cabs have a daisy chain connection so you can run one cable from the amp to the first cab then a cable from the first cab to the second one.

I would not recommend getting a 4 ohm cab unless you're sure you want to go single cab because you will not be able to add a second one later (to this amp at least).  A single 8 ohm cab will result in reduced output from the amp but it's not super significant a loss, you'll still have plenty power for live shows.