Why become a member? ×

GK 800RB Mod?

Count Bassie

Here's one for the amp tech-savvy folk:

I'm waiting on the arrival of an old GK 800RB, and want to know if it can be modded to split the signal at the effects send/return so I can control where the return goes to. Know what I mean? I want to distribute the effected, returned signal between hi and lo (it bi-amps). Can this be done? I want to send the effected signal to the hi side of the crossover only, to an open-back guitar cab, sending no effects to the lows.

I want to get the effects return split [i]after[/i] the EQ, and [i]before[/i] the Boost. I'm concerned that if my signal goes [u]through the Boost on the way to/from the effects loop[/u] it might end up being [u]too 'hot'[/u] for the effects, especially on the 'hi' side.

Thoughts?

Edited by Count Bassie

Looking at the manual you might have to move the cross over so that it goes before the boost for it to work

I'm no expert so I don't know how doable that is but that looks like how it would work to me.

Edited by Delberthot

If you were going to do that, it'd be much simpler to either run two heads or split your singal before the amp and then merge them into the amp again. Using a loop switch pedal that has a blend on it should work for a simple solution.

I don't know how possible it'd be to put in a crossover and route the power to another cab. With there only being one mono power amp, I don't think it'd be possible without another power amp anyway (could be wrong though).

Yeah I know I might be opening a can of worms here, but I had to ask! I'm going to run it by a local tech when the amp arrives (I just bought it from a dude in the next state- craigslist!), and if it's weird-but-do-able, I'm going to go for it. If not, hey. I'll still biamp it, and someone on TB suggested using a guitar cab for the highs. Said it would likely be a better way to go than a 210, and I'm thinking I agree.