Why become a member? ×

Overwater Aspiration Contemporary Jazz 4-string

ead

[b]Overwater (by Tanglewood) Aspiration - Contemporary Jazz 4-string[/b]

[b]Reviewer background:[/b]
I have been playing bass for around 6 years, five of which have been with the same rock band. We play a mix of as much of our own material as we think we can get away with at a gig, plus covers.

My main weapon of choice, and thus my main frame of reference, is my Spector Legend 4 (with P-J pickups and 3-band EQ), but I have a Yamaha RBX270 fretless (upgraded) that gets used too. Basses that I have owned but that are no longer in my possession include a Squire P-bass (my first bass), Washburn Force 4, Peavey Cirrus BXP 5, and a Rickenbacker 4003.

This is my first review, so please don’t throw things at me!

[i]Reviewer ability score: 6/10 if I’m being generous :)[/i]

[b]Purchased from:[/b]
The Bass Merchant who were very efficient. I had actually ordered and paid for the bass before it was in stock and have phoned a couple of times to check everything was OK. The Staff were universally excellent and very patient with me.

[i]Score: 9/10 – I would have liked an order acknowledgement, but they are apparently not sent when payment is by Paypal.[/i]

[b]Price:[/b]
£579, post and packaging were free of charge. The box was of good quality and well wrapped. The bass arrived undamaged 24 hours after it was sent.

[i]Value for money: 8.5/10 – In the price range that I can afford this is the best built bass I have ever handled. I also have in mind the RRP of a Spector Legend that is comes quite close on general quality to the Aspiration. To me it also sounds great (see below).[/i]

[b]Features:[/b]
From the Overwater site:
Machine heads: Deluxe J style
Neck: One piece maple natural gloss
Fret board: 22 fret maple, 19mm string spacing at the bridge, 38mm nut, pearl block inlays
Body: Light weight poplar, flame maple top, gloss transparent finish
Bridge: Overwater