Why become a member? ×

Wiring Seymour Duncan spb-3 quarter pounders!

XPAULUSX

Hi there,

i've just bought myself some new pbass pickups, and would like to install them into my bass!

however, my bass is a 50' MIM Precision.

Im unsure about how to wire my new pickups, do i try and wire them as the diagram suggests? (even though my bass has different capacitor values and locations? Or do i wire them how my stock pickups are wired?

If i do the latter will I lose any output from my Seymour Duncans?

I'm new to this, but would really like to teach myself how to do it!

Any help appreciated.

Links:

Seymour Duncan Wiring recommendation: [url="http://www.seymourduncan.com/images/products/basslines/501030-100.pdf"]http://www.seymourduncan.com/images/produc.../501030-100.pdf[/url]
American Standard pbass wiring diagram: [url="http://support.fender.com/diagrams/basses/0192200_02A/SD0192200_02APg2.pdf"]http://support.fender.com/diagrams/basses/...2200_02APg2.pdf[/url]
Vintage 50's pbass wiring diagram: [url="http://support.fender.com/diagrams/basses/0190115C/SD0190115CPg2.pdf"]http://support.fender.com/diagrams/basses/...0190115CPg2.pdf[/url]

Edited by XPAULUSX

They both work. The simplest thing to do would just be to de-solder you original pups and directly replace them with the new without changing any other wiring.
The cap only determines how much top end is bled off so you may like how your original 0.1uf sounds if you are unhappy with it simply swap it for the .05 or swap it and redo the whole loom as per SD. It's up to you really.

[quote name='Ou7shined' post='927676' date='Aug 17 2010, 03:54 PM']They both work. The simplest thing to do would just be to de-solder you original pups and directly replace them with the new without changing any other wiring.