Why become a member? ×

1969 fender bassman 135

ollie.v

hi ,im new to this page and am after some valued expert advice. i have had bassman 135 for about 15yrs. its been reconditioned several times ie,transformers diodes etc on numerous occasions ,as with all classic gear,its temperamental. but the real problem i have is trying to match the right valves with it for that original sixty's valve sound. when you purchase a quartet or (corner) of valves,they are all different and give the amp a different sound each time. do you have any recomendations please?

[quote name='ollie.v' post='896968' date='Jul 16 2010, 11:12 PM']hi ,im new to this page and am after some valued expert advice. i have had bassman 135 for about 15yrs. its been reconditioned several times ie,transformers diodes etc on numerous occasions ,as with all classic gear,its temperamental. but the real problem i have is trying to match the right valves with it for that original sixty's valve sound. when you purchase a quartet or (corner) of valves,they are all different and give the amp a different sound each time. do you have any recomendations please?[/quote]
what a great amp you have!

yes, different valve types will have an effect on tone. i would suggest some nice NOS RCA's or Mullards will sound great and just like the original intended sound

[quote name='ollie.v' post='896968' date='Jul 16 2010, 11:12 PM']hi ,im new to this page and am after some valued expert advice. i have had bassman 135 for about 15yrs. its been reconditioned several times ie,transformers diodes etc on numerous occasions ,as with all classic gear,its temperamental. but the real problem i have is trying to match the right valves with it for that original sixty's valve sound. when you purchase a quartet or (corner) of valves,they are all different and give the amp a different sound each time. do you have any recomendations please?[/quote]