Why become a member? ×

What bow?

I did a home recording the other day using my Stagg EDB 3/4 EUB, ([url="http://www.alphabeck.co.uk/music/walk_on_by.mp3"]link to recording[/url]) and I decided to play some notes [i]arco[/i]. Not owning a bass bow, I used the bow and rosin that came with my electric violin, and the results were OK, but I have been told that a real bass bow would give a more even sound and be easier to use.

Two questions:
[list=1]
[*]Should I get a 3/4-size bow to match my bass or doesn't it matter?
[*]How do I hold the bow away from the bass while playing [i]pizzicato[/i]? I ended up doing one [i]pizz.[/i] and one [i]arco[/i] take, but that's not ideal, and not possible when playing live.
[/list]I'm self-taught, so any information would be helpful!

Simon "Butterfingers" Beck
London, UK

I wouldnt say it matters really, i think mines 3\4's but is fine for all bowing, im sure a full size one is fine aswell.

While bowing you hold the bow upright with your thumb pressing against your middle finger with which you pluck the strings. You can also let it hang loosely off a a finger or two and play that way.

[quote name='butterfingersbeck' post='774438' date='Mar 14 2010, 04:52 PM'][list=1]
[*]Should I get a 3/4-size bow to match my bass or doesn't it matter?[/quote]

I don't think so - I've only played 3/4 sized double basses and always used a full size bow. One of my students has a smaller/lighter bow designed for smaller instruments, and it is not really the right thing.

[quote][*]How do I hold the bow away from the bass while playing [i]pizzicato[/i]?[/quote]