Why become a member? ×

Clipping in headphones

parker_muse

My brand spanking new ball of excitement arrived today - my first head, an Ashdown Superfly 500. I'm buying a cab for it post xmas, so for now i gave it a trial through headphones, and i found it was clipping a lot. After hearing dodgy things about the chinese powerboards i'm paranoid - is this because of the amp or the headphones? Will it be fine run through a cab?

The headphones are plugged into the line out. The volume on the bass is max, and the input volume on the amp is to the top of the green bars on the digital read out, which is where Ashdown advise it to be. To have any real volume on the master though means you get quite regular clipping, i.e, for it to be more then a modest volume through the headphones.

Sorry, i'm a complete amp noob, as stated this is my first head. Can anyone shed any light on this and help me out?

[quote name='parker_muse' post='674526' date='Dec 4 2009, 09:48 PM']They're 12.99 big ones, i can't really tell you more then that! So is it probably the headphones not the amp?[/quote]

Hi parker_muse

Short answer:
it is probably both the headphones and the amp, but don't worry, it's not a fault.

Long answer:
I don't know if you saw my reply to this in the other superfly thread. But if you are trying to drive headphones from a line-level output that is not designed to double as a headphone amp then you can expect clipping. The line-out is designed to drive a line-level desk input, which will typically 'show' a very high impedance to the line-out on your amp in comparison to a pair of headphones. Looking at the manual, your superfly has an output impedance of 600ohms. A typical desk input is about 10-50 thousand ohms.