Why become a member? ×

Phil Jones Bass D400 amp review from a blind player's perspective

JGSpector

This is my second review of a Phil Jones Bass product, this time the small and lightweight D400 bass amp head. This product easily ranks as one of the best bass amp heads for blind players in my opinion and here’s why.

Disclaimer: I’m just a dude who plays bass in a few projects and bands for fun, I am by no means a pro musician or online reviewer. All views are my own and I have not received any payment or other incentives to write this piece.

Overview.

If you’ve read the post I wrote about the PJB BP800, you’ll already know that I was seriously impressed by it as an amp in general but when considering the additional requirements I have as a blind player, I also consider it to be one of the best amps available for people who are severely sight impaired.

Because I was so impressed with the BP800, my interest in PJB amps increased, so when I saw a pre owned D400 available from Bass Direct here in the UK a few years ago, I went ahead and bought it. As much as anything, I didn’t have a backup amp at all at that point, so figured a small one that I could use for home practice and that would also double as my backup wouldn’t be a bad idea.

The D400 falls in the £500 to £750 price bracket new here in the UK and depending on where you get it from the price will vary. If you can find a pre owned one like I did, you can save a fair bit of money.

Build Quality.

As I’ve already mentioned, I purchased my D400 as pre owned. As a result, it didn’t come in it’s original packaging. Given how well thought out the packaging for the BP800 was when I got it though, I would imagine the packaging for the D400 would be just as good.