Why become a member? ×

Hartke A100 Bass Combo Review

Jonnyboy Rotten

I'm probably not the best person to review this as I am a noob and only been playing a few months however, I'll give it a shot and other people can add their views below.

I bought by A100 off another forum member in almost new condition so I can't say how the unit was packaged or what the manufacturer included but I gave it a run for its money the other night!

For completeness you may want to know that I was using my Ibanez SR300 active bass.

First impressions:8/10

Good:
Great looking smart and modern design with clean brushed aluminium style control panel and an impressive number of knobs, switches and dials. You can clearly see the 15" aluminium speaker cone through the grill which adds to its distinctive look. The kick back feature is also a boon for anyone who will be wanting to use these as foldback speakers during a gig (why more cabinets don't do this I will never know!).

Bad:
Nothing really - the only thing I would mention and this is probably based on taste and my lack of experience - I would probably prefer the cab to be finished in vinyl or a tough leather look plastic. It is finished in a fuzzy felt material which is probably fine. It just looks as if it might be more prone to tearing than vinyl but feel free to correct me on this!

Sound: 9/10