Why become a member? ×

Rest Stroke and Free Stroke

philwood

Hi Chaps and Chapesses,

Just a quick question on right hand picking. Im self taught and have been using free stroke all these years and only just stumbled across rest stroke.
In short I cant seem to develop the same speed using rest stroke, so is this a technique used for just solid medium paced lines and free stroke for faster passages or am I barking up the wrong tree??

Many Thanks

Phil

Edited by philwood

Hi Phil,

Strokes really are a matter of choice. I've used both, and still continue to use both. Neither is wrong, they just sound quite different.

In classical guitar (from what I understand) most guitarists tend to learn to use free strokes as they can be used for everything, whether it's single lines, comping chords or whatever, whilst rest strokes cannot be used to pluck chords. By their very definition they will dampen the string below.

However they choose to use rest strokes as it has a more defined and solid tone to the note. Gary Willis mentions the 'thud' of hitting the lower string in a rest stroke as being invaluable in putting out a strong(er) tone (relative to a free stroke).

I think the next question that you would realistically never have to address when using free strokes, is whether to rake or not. Unfortunately classical guitar technique and classical upright bass technique (again, from my understanding) teach somewhat opposite viewpoints on raking vs strict alternation, I think it's important to try both and see which you feel the instrument (or at least the way you play and approach the instrument) is more suited to.

In short, either is good, learn to do both, if I were you I'd stick with free strokes for the reasons above, and if you've got it down already, it'll save you a world of trouble changing your technique for (perhaps?) no good reason.

Mark

You're welcome bud, if you have any more questions feel free to message or post on here for some interesting discussion!