Why become a member? ×

Beginner Needs Advice On Battery-Powered Amp & co...

Alfinne

Hi!

Straight to the point - can I use Crate TX50DB as a rehearsal amp for an electric bass? (i.e. exactly how bad of an idea is that?) ;p

Here's my story:

I'm a singer/songwriter and a piano player. I am planning on playing on the street, so I need a reasonably good/loud sounding battery-powered amp for my mic and keyboard (through a mixer if necessary); Next part of my story is that I've always been in love with the sound of the bass and I've now gotten around to take up the instrument and learn to play: so as a beginner I will need a simple practice amp; However, being on a tight budget, I can't afford to buy two amps (or the P.J.Briefcase) so I was looking to combine my needs in one piece of gear. I've read good reviews on the Pignose HOG30, but I can't seem to find it available in UK (I'm based in London), plus I found the Crate TX50DB, which is 50W (supposed to be better?). Now, I know it's a guitar amp and I read somewhere that I shouldn't plug an el.bass in a guitar amp?? But do you think I could pull this off with this particular amp (the specs seem reasonable to me)? Since I am starting from scratch I'm long way from playing bass anywhere outside of my own home, so as long as the amp can handle the signal and I can clearly hear myself practice, it's all good. ;-)

One more little question: I've got my eye on IBANEZ GSR200 and YAMAHA RBX170 - which one do you think would be a better choice to learn on?

Before I take this step and go buy stuff... I thought I should ask some pros... So please guys, any kind of advice, comment or criticism is welcome and will be highly appreciated!

If you just want an amp that means you can hear yourself for guitar, bass and keyboards (one at a time of course) you'd be best off getting a bass amp. You can put pretty much anything through a bass amp without worrying about damaging it.