Why become a member? ×

My first lesson

Andyalfa

I had my first double bass lesson last night. I was pretty excited beforehand and would have been gutted if the snow had prevented me going. Anyway, I made it OK and the lesson went really well, although not quite what I expected.

For a start, he had me playing with a bow. I have never used one before and had no intention of ever using one in the future, but I thought what the hell, I'll give it a go. Although I still don’t think I’ll ever use one outside of lessons, I have to admit, it is a very good aid to teaching. Using the bow to hold a note really helps with getting your intonation correct, because you can easily hear whether you are sharp or flat.

In fact, when I tried plucking the strings instead, the sound was very dull. The bottom E in particular, had so little sustain, you could hardly tell a note had been played at all, even on an open string. Maybe it was the choice of strings (arco only?) that was the cause, or more probably, trouble with my technique. Whatever it was, the sound was totally dead. The only way to hear what you were holding was to use a bow. This is in total contrast to the Stagg, which has probably too much sustain when plucking. Definitely nearer a bass guitar than a pucker upright.

At the end of the hour, I realised that this is going to be difficult to master. There’s the physical challenge of the left hand, of course. Holding the strings down, spreading my fingers to reach the notes and concentrating on keeping my first finger still when stretching was all demanding. My left hand was shot by the end. Not painful, just tired.