Why become a member? ×

1988 Bakelite BX

bnt

With all these stories of beautiful bespoke instruments, lovingly crafted by expert luthiers, and heading to appreciative owners who will cherish them for life... I feel compelled to share my tale of amateur industrial lutherie. The following story is not suitable for sensitive readers, professional luthiers, and owners of custom basses, and I accept no responsibility for any emotional distress, hare-brained ideas, injury or death that may result.

By 1988 I was really dissatisfied with my first bass, a P-copy (Hondo?) with an OK neck but a dull plywood body. This was in South Africa, where I was an apprentice at a steel factory, and was placed at various departments for months at a time. In one outlying department the technicians I worked for were laid back, and spent a lot of time making fancy knives, some good enough to win prizes at shows. My sole knife attempt produced a glorified letter-opener (I used the wrong steel), so I decided to replace the body on my bass. I already knew I'd need to buy a new bass some time, and decided to experiment a little.

I didn't like Fender shapes (and still don't): this was the period when I lusted after a Steinberger XL-2, but was also aware that the ergonomics could be difficult. I "designed" a body roughly similar to a [url="http://instruments.garyhendershot.com/Yamaha_BX1.html"]Yamaha BX-1[/url], perhaps a little bigger, with a shorter horn. I later tried reducing the headstock, but the first version had the full-size P-bass neck attached.