Why become a member? ×

Quantity VS Quality

Bluewine

I thought this would generate some good discussion.

What do you gigging guys think?Would you rather play allot of gigs at questionable venues with low pay and poor logistics. This is where you'd be gigging 6 to 8 times a month.

Or play premium gigs 2 times a month. Show case classy gigs with great pay and amenities?

Bkue

1659196387112~2.jpg

• Like 2

3 minutes ago, Bluewine said:

.... questionable venues with low pay and poor logistics.....

My entire musical life in a nutshell. 😄 That said, I've really enjoyed most of it.

I have no experience of the other option, but it does sound good!

• Like 2

10 minutes ago, Bluewine said:

Would you rather play allot of gigs at questionable venues with low pay and poor logistics. This is where you'd be gigging 6 to 8 times a month.

Or play premium gigs 2 times a month. Show case classy gigs with great pay and amenitie.

Had many years playing option 1

But now Option 2 all the way. 18 - 20 gigs a year in good venues is perfect.

That said I'm with a 10 piece band now, so Option 1 is not going to happen.

• Like 1

The days of playing toilets are far behind me.

Not that I play super, well paying, gigs all the time. I just play venues where we don't have to drive for miles, the audiences are enthusiastic and the sound engineers know what they're doing.

• Like 1

Option 2. I've played in various bands of one sort and another - wedding bands, samba & other drum groups, festival bands... -  and in some the organisers fair overdid it with their bookings, with us often playing 3-4 gigs every weekend throughout the spring to autumn.  Way OTT. In one group we played 120 in one year...and most of us had regular full time jobs. After that I now much rather do a dozen choice gigs a year. 

• Like 1

Option 2 all the way. Except in my reality it's the frequency of option 2 with occasional forays into the quality aspect of option 1.