Why become a member? ×

Ernie Ball Cobalts Rust

garyt

Does anyone else have a problem with Ernie Ball cobalts rusting?
I bought a set recently.  3 gigs in and there are 2 patches which look like surface rust.  I tried wiping it off, but no luck.  I got another gig out of them, but am going to have to bite the bullet and change them, but a set of strings for 4 gigs! 
My son uses cobalts on his guitar and seems to get rust as well on the lower strings. 

13 hours ago, fretmeister said:

They did have this problem several years ago but I thought it had been solved. I wonder if you managed to buy new, old stock?

Might be worth an email to EB's UK people.

I might try that.  I’ve been using Cobalts on and off for a few years and never has this problem before.

I thought it might be a reaction to some peoples sweat as my son’s cobalts on his guitar always go rusty fairly quickly (fk knows why he keeps using them). 

I had the same issue with these strings for a set I bought around a year ago but barely used.

Ernie Ball weren't interested and suggested I 'wipe down the strings' and buy another product of theirs - I've never had it with any other set, even after several years...

Good Morning,

Thank you for providing this information and photographs for us to assess. Unfortunately, due to age of the set of strings, Ernie Ball will be unable to offer a replacement set. The only advice we could offer is to thoroughly wipe down the strings after being played by using a string cleaner such as;

https://ernieball.co.uk/guitar-accessories/guitar-instrument-care#P04277

Edited by d_g

I bought another set (despite past experience) thinking that I'd inspect them when I open them and get a refund if they're rusty (I have found that they arrive rusty and don't get worse as I play them). Happy to report they look fine; it might be my imagination but the wrap appears tighter too. I really do like the sound of them on a stingray...

• 2 months later...