Why become a member? ×

Twiggy - An EBB5 bass prototype

SamIAm

image.png.71cede91acdcdc2b55bf121b8d4b1b79.png

Introduction

I've been playing at playing bass for a few years, but recently kicked it up a notch and moved from UBASS to my current MCR-1 Short Scale.

I really like it ... but ... there are some things I would like to be different ... none of them can be achieved by modding Ponty so I started looking for a bass that ticked my boxes; which are:

• Short overall length (33 inches or less). I play in a ukulele band and I do not want my bass to appear out of place (Does my bass look big in this band?)  Plus a smaller bass is lighter (I've a bad back), easier to handle/transport and probably less dangerous to my band mates ...
  • image.png.9c9b39e97dc674e4f96d1fbc9e72a185.png
  • 5 Strings - Specifically a BEADG tuning.  Hmmm ... to avoid the low B feeling/sounding like a piece of wet spaghetti it seems that a scale scale length of 31 inches or more is needed (Looking at various high quality short scale bass makers e.g. Birdsong) ... but how to fit that in a 33 inch bass?
  • Headless
  • 0 fret

Having searched a lot I could not find anyone brilliant (insane!?) enough to be making this kind of thing and so the EBB5

Eclectic - design draws on ideas from all over

Bespoke - custom build

B - bass guitar

5 - 5 strings

She shall be called Flo (It's a tide thing).

And this will be her story ...

S'manth

edit:  Building Flo turned into a building protoype build of Twiggy (5 string, fretless made from a 2x4 I happened to have lying around).

After a delightful outcome I'm about to embark on Flo, learning from my mistakes and some successes with Twiggy ... new build diary here Flo - A second generation EBB5 bass

Edited by Smanth
Updated details
  • Like 11

Also very interested to see how this develops :)