Why become a member? ×

Anyone using a Bergantino Forte HP?

fretmeister

I've not paid much attention to Berg amps (I've had their cabs in the last) and in my hunt for amps with built in compression and other things I've only just noticed this really.

Anyone using one? Ideally with a BF Super Twin?

The demos look great, the drive circuit seems to be actually musical and the extra bits like the variable HPF and LPF are a great idea.

I know they don't sell in the same volumes as other brands but I can't see any reports of failures. Anyone had any downsides?

ta

• Like 1

I've got the Forte HP.

I was interested in the features; compression, HPF and 1200 watts, and after a positive experience using Bergantino's  cabs, I wanted to check out their amps.

First impressions, I think this amp sounds great. There's an authority in the tone that I like. A full, solid and warm feel to each note. I've never used compression before and after several sessions playing with the controls and a couple of gigs, I'm finding I can take it or leave it. The HPF just works quietly in the corner. With my Barefaced cabs I'm  not sure I have a problem that requires an HPF to fix.  I have it set at about 9 o'clock, just before I start to hear it thinning out the sound. 1200 watts. . . . that's lots of punch and there is headroom to spare, but this year I've taken a step back from doing many of my very loud gigs, and really my 500 watt amps are fine for what I now need. There is an overdrive, but I have no interest in that. The firmware can be updated from the Bergantino site which gives different base sounds. It's something that I'm not sure I really need. Whatever download was on the amp when I bought it suits me just fine. I'd probably never change it.