Why become a member? ×

Strings - how?

Steve Browning

A while back I started a thread asking the massive how a loudspeaker works, and how it reproduces multiple frequencies. 

The result was a fascinating thread, which was very informative. 

This is about strings. What is the science around thicker strings being more full sounding and thinner strings being more twangy. I'm thinking standard bass and Fender VI, for example. 

How does a short scale string cover the same frequencies as a full scale string?

Any experts out there?

• 1 month later...

I'm no expert, but there are several variables that change how a string sounds: length, gauge, material, tension, construction. Make a string longer, it plays a deeper sound (that's obvious to anyone that has ever fretted a stringed instrument); make it tighter, it plays a higher sound (ditto for anyone that's ever turned a tuning peg); make it thicker it plays a deeper sound (hence why we have multiple strings on one instrument). What's less obvious is how material and construction changes things.