Why become a member? ×

5 sting advice

plaaty

Hi All,

My stagg 5 sting is being retired with a twisted neck so I'm looking to upgrade it a bit, there are a couple of basses I've seen that look good in my price range, but none are local to me so I can't try one.

Cort Arona 5

Cort B5 Element

ESP Ltd F255

If anyone has any thoughts on these it would be great.

I'm a novice player and am only practising at home at the moment, but would like a bass that is versatile enough to gig with when the time comes.

Thanks in advance.

Giles

I can't tell you anything about these basses.  Speaking as someone who is geographically remote from guitar shops which carry a decent amount of basses, I have tended to gather as much info as I can - YouTube videos, any press reviews these instruments may have had, in addition to opinions here then gone for the one I like the look of best.  Order online - with distance selling regs you can try it out in the comfort of your own home and don't feel bad about invoking those rights to return the bass if it's not for you.  If your situation is anything like mine, it'll cost you about the same to courier it back to the vendor as it would to travel somewhere which has the instrument you're looking for, and a lot less time.

Just remember not to rip things open in your excitement - you'll need that packaging to send it back if it doesn't work out, so take your time ;)

Find a decent 5 string in the 'for sale' section and save yourself a good few hundred quid!

Looking at those basses you mention I'm guessing your budget is circa £500, that will get you a great second hand 5 string and at a price where you won't loose hundreds should you want to sell or trade it later! 

• Like 2

2 minutes ago, binky_bass said:

Find a decent 5 string in the 'for sale' section and save yourself a good few hundred quid!