Why become a member? ×

Phantom power for effects pedals

wayneyboy

I have got a ebs td650 head and it has a phantom power button for pedals i have just discovered. As i am new to this device I just wondered how it works? I assume it powers 9v pedals but wondered if it can just power the one device?
On a different note on the head it says the tube/solid state is switchable on the front of the amp so wondered whether you can switch it via a foot pedal?

Advice much appreciated!

If there's no footswitch jack, you could add one very easily.

I assume there are some pedals with an XLR output which can be powered by phantom power, but to power any normal pedals you would need to make a special adaptor - XLR to Jack AND Power plug.

[quote name='cheddatom' post='455135' date='Apr 6 2009, 08:47 AM']I don't think it will feed any voltage down your input jack lead.[/quote]

actually, i think that's what it does, doesn't it? if you connect EBS pedals via a TRS cable, it will power the pedals remotely. i think. :)

[quote name='escholl' post='455227' date='Apr 6 2009, 10:42 AM']actually, i think that's what it does, doesn't it? if you connect EBS pedals via a TRS cable, it will power the pedals remotely. i think. :)[/quote]

Ahhh, right sorry, I don't know the specifics for this amp. You couldn't put a boss tuner infront of the amp and power it via phantom power though, without some adaptors etc.

Not sure if you have it already but the manual is here Peter... [url="http://www.ebs.bass.se/2007/manuals/td650.pdf"]http://www.ebs.bass.se/2007/manuals/td650.pdf[/url]

Stomp pedal effects in the loop are powered when the button is depressed but it isn't very clear if that is one or all and I assume that it is only EBS pedals.