Why become a member? ×

NBD : Ibanez Roadstar II RB620NT (?)

Jolltax

I went to look at a Peavey Zodiac bass advertised in a local shop window for £99 and the guy showed me this Ibanez Roadstar II as well, according to Dr Google its a RB620NT from around 1983 (but open to advice on this).  I am a beginner player and don't  know much about gear but whatever it is, it spoke to me, and so I went home to find the cash, google it and went back today and got it, very grateful to the seller. I paid £180

It seems in strangely good condition for its age, better than I was at 38 years old, maybe it has been worked on? One of those situations where I don't really know what I bought ... but I like it 🤨. It seems pretty genuine, but again, I have no idea ...

I took the photos straight away when I got home before the light left, still undusted, as I wanted to post this and see whether people think I made a wise choice. I practiced with it this evening and it surprised me how lively the output is, for a passive bass it seems to have quite a kick compared to my (one) other passive bass, I love the feel of the neck - it is a P-bass type? No idea, lol.  I think it needs a setup and some strings and the neck looks a tiny bit torqued / twisted, is that usual for an old instrument?  Plays ok to me, though.

I get the impression it has been stored and unplayed for a while 5-10 years, any advice on what I should do with it to restore to full health?

Anyway, I am very happy with it, I feel like I need to get some flares to wear while I am playing it to properly do it justice, here are some pics :

20211010_180825.thumb.jpg.e76fe7c3641d8c13227bf3e7f436a35e.jpg20211010_180856.thumb.jpg.ffc297a58e7673636d3ac4730d80d4c6.jpg20211010_180830.thumb.jpg.06ff92a3eee5afbc2322675824b9e687.jpg20211010_180847.thumb.jpg.7a4e69260238ce1d5bc7a74242aeae1a.jpg20211010_180909.thumb.jpg.e449d8de7d92a1a4d0caa8fd15807d2e.jpg

Groovy!

J

• Like 21