Why become a member? ×

Judas Priest's Rocka Rolla: Hard Rock or Heavy Metal?

Judas Priest's Rocka Rolla: Heavy Metal or Hard Rock?  

20 members have voted

1. 1. Hard Rock or Heavy Metal?

• Heavy Metal
    • Hard Rock

6 minutes ago, Nail Soup said:

I'm not an expert, but I found an "Old Grey Whistle Test" version.

The photo evidence suggests hard rock:

image.png.94635735d6be6c6d10560e071e81f77a.png

(and to my inexpert ears I'd say it sounded more like hard rock)

Did you see that BBC programme over Christmas, they showed lots of footage from broadcast performances of heavy metal, had Budgie and all sorts. It was a real treat to watch. I think it was late on Boxing Day evening, or maybe after they aired Metallica at Glastonbury.. Anyway, it was great, they showed this Priest performance, I'm sure of it. 

I.M. just wrecked my love for them with their keyboard-infused stuff after Powerslave.

However, I thought Geoff Nichols used keyboards tastefully in Black Sabbath.

Looking at the credits for those I.M. albums states Guitar Synthesizer, I was sure it was actually keyboards, but anyway, I did NOT like it, at all.

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Killed_by_Death said:

I.M. just wrecked my love for them with their keyboard-infused stuff after Powerslave.

Looking at the credits for those I.M. albums states Guitar Synthesizer, I was sure it was actually keyboards, but anyway, I did NOT like it, at all.

Where do you stand on Motörhead with added piano?

• Haha 2

27 minutes ago, Killed_by_Death said:

Robbo, the misfit:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSRjFpQVJyakSY9PRiP-Zw

Lem wrote that he would turn up to gigs with ballet slippers on.

That quote surfaces every now and again and people tend to take it to the letter.