Why become a member? ×

Do I need them ?

Guest BassAdder27

As a guitarist I remember the endless search for different tones and sounds that complimented the sound for certain songs

As a bassist I do like the raw amp tone / bass tone etc with onboard grit / warmth 

Do I need any effects that would give me more scope ?

Would a simple Boss or Zoom multi fx suffice ?

Do most of you run effects in front of amp ( easier ) compared to fx loop 

I’m thinking the added sounds would be helpful filling my sound out during guitar solos ( three piece rock band ) 

Which ever way not looking to spend much over £200 tops 

Incidently I now have the four way Ashdown footswitch so I can turn on Sub or Drive as required 

I have never gigged a pedal. I've owned a few but they were bought with half an intention, rather than a need, and sold on pretty quickly when I realised that the sound of a good bass through a good rig is all I and the music I play need.

As per the other thread. . . you don't need to "fill out" your sound in guitar solos. You really, really don't!

• Like 1

1 minute ago, chris_b said:

I have never gigged a pedal. I've owned a few but they were bought with half an intention, rather than a need, and sold on pretty quickly when I realised that the sound of a good bass through a good rig is all I and the music I play need.

As per the other thread. . . you don't need to "fill out" your sound in guitar solos. You really, really don't!

Good to hear this as I was thinking already along these lines 

Don't feel like you should start using them unless you are genuinely missing something.  Sometimes, clean bass just works!

Genre of music I play in, clean bass would be a complete no-go if I had any intention of being heard in the mix.  It all depends on the context.