Why become a member? ×

Pre order wait times...

uk_lefty

I'm hankering for a new bass and haven't fully decided yet. Some of the Fender models I want need to be pre ordered and the wait if I order now is to early June. Its a long wait but at least there's a date on it. If I can't raise the cash for a US Fender I may go Epi Jack Cassidy. And apparently I can pay a deposit now to be "first in the queue" BUT, this is what I don't understand, Gibson / Epiphone might deliver at some point in future, might not and nobody knows what will be in the crate. Knowing their poor record on lefties this doesn't fill me with confidence that I will actually ever get the bass, nevermind when. 

Has anyone got "better" info on this from a retailer perspective? Is it really a lucky dip with Gibson/ Epi deliveries for what they will send you and when? 

I work in retail, albeit not musical, to be honest right now supply chain is in the most difficult position I have seen it in my 20 years experience. 

The global shortage of containers mixed with the ongoing largely undiscussed implications of brexit, and on top of the covid restrictions are playing havoc with most companies inventory availability. 

Some companies will put dates on products being available, but all you have to do is look at any post  by a company on Facebook and you  will see disappointed customers high jacking the comment thread. 

Others don't take orders for stock they don't physically have. 

Two different philosophies, one is don't take money for stock you don't have, and you avoid disappointing customers, but run the risk of losing orders. The other puts an order in your books  but you have the risk of disappointing customer if stock doesn't arrive when you think it will. If a retailer chooses this route communication is key. 

Its a bit of a catch 22 situation for retailers to be honest. 

• Like 1