Why become a member? ×

Macari’s’ have left london.

dave_bass5

I don’t know if this has been talked about already, but i saw this when i was talking down Charing Cross road today. Very sad sight. 

When i started playing music this was the first music shop i ever went in. I came out with a Truckersound Combo, A Craftsman Les Paul copy and a Coloursound fuzz pedal. My mum came with me and we got the bus back home with it all. 

Back then we also had Rose Morris in Shaftesbury Ave, The Fender Sound house in Soho Square and many more shops spread out around the Denmark st area. 

I also noticed one side Denmark street has only two music shops left. 

Sad times, but a sign of them i guess. 

4EAF5822-71D3-475F-BE0C-140E8E2C3CD1.thumb.jpeg.7fe3c861caf1d39fead8e55fc8721f3c.jpeg

Edited by dave_bass5
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 2
  • Sad 5

2 hours ago, dave_bass5 said:

When i started playing music this was the first music shop i ever went in. I came out with a Truckersound Combo, A Craftsman Les Paul copy and a Coloursound fuzz pedal. My mum came with me and we got the bus back home with it all. 

Back then we also had Rose Morris in Shaftesbury Ave, The Fender Sound house in Soho Square and many more shops spread out around the Denmark st area.

My first proper guitar came from Soho Soundhouse in Soho Square, my first proper amp from Rose Morris in Denmark Street. I bought them on the same evening and a couple of my mates came into town for the occasion to help me get the stuff home on the tube. I think both stores were frankly amazed that I had finally bought something costing more than a tenner.

This was in the mid-1980s, so of course I was doing highly paid temp work at a mortgage company before going to university, and on the way home I realised I had left my Filofax on the counter at Rose Morris. Went up there first thing the next morning, feeling like a right muppet.