Why become a member? ×

Stepping up from a Stagg EUB - recommendations please!

Al Krow

Been really enjoying improving my EUB playing on my Stagg 3/4 EUB during past few months.

It's a great value piece of kit and exactly the right thing for me as a beginner.

If I continue to work on improving my playing and start gigging with this with my 50s / 60s band next year, I'm kinda thinking that it might be nice to upgrade from this at some point in 2021, but sticking with a "free standing" EUB rather than the "stationary" EUB of the NS Design type.

Be really interested to get your thoughts on and feedback on other EUBs you've had and in what way they would be a step up from the Stagg.

Edited by Al Krow

I went from a Stagg to a Yamaha SLB 200 that I found in perfect condition for about 1/3 of the price of a new one and it has served me well for about 4 years of gigs and rehearsals with two bands. I have been using my DB for most gigs since I got it about two years ago but I usually rehearse with the Yamaha since it is easier to haul around and I still use it on gigs with limited stage space and I can usually dial in a good sound using its onboard EQ going straight into the PA. I love playing it but the DB looks better at gigs for the bands I'm in and is fun to play.

I think a new  Yamaha is overpriced by quite a bit but the latest model (300) might be worth it since it has fancy new electronics. If I were shopping for a new EUB I would be checking out the Italian MK basses, they get very good reviews and are reasonably priced and have several models to chose from. I have tried an Eminence and it was lovely to play and as mentioned above it is expensive but you might find a good used one. 

Both the Yamaha and MK have "wings" which make playing them more like playing DB, much easier to hold and play than the Stagg and some other EUB's.

Good luck with the search.

• Like 1