Why become a member? ×

Newbie saying hi

Nitebytes

Hi o/
OK I'll say more than that. I'm primarily a drummer, but don't that against me ;)
I've drummed since I was 14 (I'm 47 now), a little over 20 years ago (maybe as much as 25 years ago?) I picked up a bass to see if I could get my fingers around a bassline our bassist was having difficulty with when we were recording. (my playing ended up on that demo tape).
Off the back of that a friend mine came to me and asked me to stand in as bassist for his band while they found a new one having sacked their previous player. I was still with them when  they went into the studio to reocrd an album (Pyridine Piranha by Rooftop Farmers, it's on spotify etc.). 
I left and wanted to do more stuff as a drummer and largely left the bass alone.

I gotmyself into a motorcycle accident a few years ago that's left me with a brain injury, which hampers a few things.

Then covid happened, and lockdown (suprrise, right?).

Rooftop Farmers decided it'd be cool to record more material (after a 20 year hiatus) so I'm picking up the bass again. I bought myself a new bass more suitable to seated practice and recording at home; a Steinberger Spirit.
And then found myself here as I was looking for a few tips on it (which I found in a thread from a couple of years ago).

Also I still stream drums on twitch and may add the bass to my routine.

So, thats me. Hi o/

• Like 4

SO, keep in mind at this point I've had it 48hrs:
It's more comfortable for me to play sat down than my Ibanez Gio Soundgear, the action's a little higher, which I like, and I like the tuning mechanism.

Downsides, no thumb rest and the neck pickup is really low profile so awkward to rest on, the strap button positioning is awkward so its incomfortable to play standing, turning up the master tone I get a horrendous hissing that the Ibanez doesn't do. With just the bridge and neck tones turned up it sounds great. 
It's got a much fuller sound than my Ibanez too. I like it.