Why become a member? ×

Why I am taking real life lessons and how it helps

DiMarco

Hi guys,

I have been a gigging bassist since 1991 and I know how to make my instrument sound good.
Creativity in abundance, I have always been able to come up with fitting basslines to the original songs our guitarists would throw at us.

But in the last couple of years, I find myself sounding boring. I keep throwing in the same couple of flavors of licks and styles because... well that's all I know.

So I set some goals for myself, now in my early fifties I am open to more musical styles then before and willing to lift my playing to the next stage.
Up till now I have been completely self taught. A year of Scott's bass lessons did not help me much other then understanding what scales, degrees, triads, 7 chords and modes are... But I still wasn't able to apply that knowledge because there's no incentive to keep practicing and seeing progress. I canceled with SBL because of this.

So what to do? I was wanting to learn bass specific techniques like doublethumbing and plucking triplets on top of getting my theory up to a point where I can apply it without thinking too much.

Out of the sky came an American session/studio musician who is now looking for work in my area since he married a dutch girl and now lives here. What an opportunity! Check out his chops in the video.

Yesterday I had my third lesson and by now I have all of the triads and 7chords down on the major scale. I am moving quicker then ever. Next week I will have to be able to play the scale notes anywhere on the neck up and downwards, and play them from a different starting point to memorize the modes in all the different patterns. I never thought I would be picking up on the material this quick, but I am, even at age 52.

So what I am saying is when you feel stuck, maxxed out on possibilities, bored with your own limitations DO FIND A LOCAL TEACHER who knows his chops specifically on bass.