Why become a member? ×

Gallien Krueger combo - help with value please!

casapete

Ok, so this is a bit of an weird one! It's a GK 200MB combo I've been using as a practice/small gig amp for a few years now.

As you can see, the original metal cabinet has long gone and replaced with a wooden version! It was like this when I got it, and I thought I'd get around to painting it black with Tuff Cab stuff but never did. The little thing works fine, pots slightly crackly occasionally but nothing that can't be easily sorted. Unsure of the speaker details, but it's a 10 inch job whereas I believe they would have been 12 inch in this model? Used it mainly at home and the occasional 'acoustic' gig with my Washburn AB20. I've tried the head into a separate cab and it sounds great too!

So the big question - what's it worth? It's now superfluous to my needs, since i got a Fender Rumble 100. If someone wanted to use just the head, they could maybe make a sleeve for it, or just either use it as it is for practice or tidy it up for gigs etc. Even spares for their GK combo?

Any thoughts most welcome. I'm a paid up member on here so this isn't a selling dodge - I genuinely haven't a clue what to put it up for!

Cheers, Pete.

IMG_0752.JPG

IMG_0754.JPG

Edited by casapete

That’s really tricky.  The combo is great, I miss mine.  But it’s design is all about the cab/12” driver and how it functions with the weird tiny aluminium enclosure.  

I’d be tempted to keep the head unit, rehoused somehow.  It’s a great little thing, especially with a DI for help.  This might not work, as I think the mains transformer is mounted  in the cab with the speaker?

As is, I’d guess £200...but a challenge to shift in the current micro amp world. 

• Thanks 1

3 hours ago, BassBod said:

That’s really tricky.  The combo is great, I miss mine.  But it’s design is all about the cab/12” driver and how it functions with the weird tiny aluminium enclosure.