Why become a member? ×

Hello from Kent!

wintoid

Hi all,

I actually joined a while back but have been more of a browser than a contributor.  I thought I should say hello properly.

I'm a 52 year old guy who grew up obsessed with the bass from a fairly early age.  Jaco, Mark King and all that.  I started playing at around 13 years old, maybe earlier, on borrowed instruments at first.  My first bass was a Westone (?) Rail, which just looked like the future to me!

I'm a computer guy, and that ended up being how I made my living, but as soon as I was earning, I wanted to get myself a really nice bass.  I wanted a Wal.  However, at the time I was able to find credit from a music shop that did not have Wals but had Warwicks, so I ended up with a 4 string Warwick through-neck which took me 2 years to pay off.

Over a few years I accumulated a nice little collection of analog synths and studio gear, but when we had kids, I sold most of it.  Needs must.  I downgraded my bass at that time from the Warwick to a Hohner B2A, which I still have.  It has lain unplayed for nearly 2 decades now as I have been consumed with bringing up my kids.

During lockdown, I've found myself interested in music as a hobby again, and have been playing with Bitwig as a DAW.  I've got a reasonable soundcard now, so fished out the Hohner and had a go at recording it.  I need new strings!  Don't like the sound recorded with the active circuitry engaged, and it's a bit quiet in passive mode, but it's passable for now.

I still want a Wal!

Anyway, I'm here, and grateful for this resource and all you nice people.  Thought I should say hi!

Cheers,

Simon

Welcome Simon.

Has your B2A got an XLR out as well as the standard jack socket?  If so, that will send a clean signal to the input device.  I'm told that a lot of studios had these just for recording.