Why become a member? ×

Wal build times / build times in general

40hz

Morning all!

I'm currently toying with the idea of placing an order for a Wal Mk1 but note that the wait times and pricing have risen quite a bit in the past couple of years. They were under 5k with a year wait time 2-3 years ago. They now come in at £6050 with a three year wait.

Should I just place an order in the expectation that if I don't do it now both wait times and the cost will keep increasing? 

Apologies for seeming a bit dumb as I have no experience of high end bass luthiery. I know not all basses are made the same or created equal, but is this a 'normal' wait time? What do other builders/luthiers do when their wait times get excessive?

Any experiences or tips on how to stay sane during the build time very much appreciated! 😄

51 minutes ago, AndyTravis said:

I would hope if you agree a build at £6000 that’s the final price you pay - even if the basses creep up to £7500 by the time yours is delivered. Or have I missed the point?

Apologies if I didn't make sense, it's late in the day/morning!

I've essentially been holding off on the expectation that wait times might come down! But it seems to be going in the opposite direction! The longer I wait in placing the order, the more I'll have to pay and wait (seemingly). However I barely have the willpower or patience to wait 3 years as it is!

Edited by 40hz

The price and the wait time do seem a little excessive. Have you spoken with a Electric Wood to enquire why the wait time has gone up? The prices, well, they’re going to go up, but I would expect it to stay at the price point you ordered it at. I can’t see why that would be otherwise. I’m glad I bought mine when I did.

37 minutes ago, 40hz said:

Apologies if I didn't make sense, it's late in the day/morning!