deadline

Squier CV Jaguar Bass replacement pickups

Hi!

I have one of these basses coming my way, but I want to replace the pickups with something hotter. I am considering this set from Aguilar, but have some questions. The Jaguar comes with two stacked pots; Vol/Tone for P pickup and Vol/Tone for J pickup. Will this be an issue when mounting these pickups, or will I get exactly the same functionality as the stock pickups?

I am kinda new to this, but try to learn. Thanks in advance! :)

Edited by deadline

What @miles'tone says. People have this strange mindset that they have to change stuff, without even trying it. I went through this phase myself, but most of the time the benefit was minimal.

Something I have found is that some upgrades with pickups, bridges and even strings work, sometimes they don't. There's been many a time I changed pickups, only to change them back to the original, as they sounded better against the so say upgrade!

• Like 1

Hi, and thank you for replies! Thing is, I am a tinkerer by nature. Been building custom PCs for ages, and want to learn more about how a bass works. Maybe or maybe not I will be happy with switching pickups, potmeters, and all the other things, but I want the know how. :)

2 minutes ago, deadline said:

Hi, and thank you for replies! Thing is, I am a tinkerer by nature. Been building custom PCs for ages, and want to learn more about how a bass works. Maybe or maybe not I will be happy with switching pickups, potmeters, and all the other things, but I want the know how. :)

The best way to scratch that itch is to buy a kit bass, or assemble all the parts and build a bass yourself from scratch.

I've done this, and for me, it showed me its better to buy a decent bass second hand, then buy a bass and mod it. I've modded dozens of basses and my main bass is a stock Yamaha.

• Like 1