Why become a member? ×

Own up .... Who's got (or had) a trem on a bass?

Angel

I was just watching a video concert that I am really enjoying these days (Casiopea vs the Square full live), basically two excellent Japanese jazz fusion bands sharing the stage for a concert. I noticed that at one point one of the bassists, during a solo bit, started shaking a whammy bar. To be honest, I thought that they came and went over a very short period (late 80s?) when guitar mags invariable had a pic of Billy Sheehan with one. The concert was some time later 2004 I think.

Are they still a thing? Anyone got one or had one? Even though I'm a guitarist who feels a little lost without one, I wouldn't go for one on a bass personally.

... and I think that the concert is excellent if anyone is interested:

I used to have a P bitsa I put a Kahler trem on (more correctly - a vibrato unit) - never used to to its full potential, but interesting and used subtly created some "fretlesseque" effects.  Even heavier than a Badass 1 though.

I've got a VIBRATO on both my Bass VIs - Burns Barracuda and Squier Bass VI. However once the over-lightweight gauge strings have been replaced on these the vibrato barely functions anymore as the string tension is now too high.

Edited by BigRedX

54 minutes ago, fleabag said:

Pedants head on.

A trem is a volume changer,  and vibrato is a pitch changer.  Therefore vibratos are the system fitted to basses and guitars.

Yeah, but language adapts all the time, and they are often known just as a trem now. It is its own word. I specifically didn't say Tremolo. I'm blocking your pedantry!

Check out Chicken Fried Snake on the Ron Levys Wild Kingdom CD. Some brilliant whammy-assisted 6 string bass from Jimmie Vaughan.

I remember a Peavey demo by Colin Hodgkinson (early 80's I think) and he had a bass (4 string) fitted with one.; Weird in quite an interesting way.

2 hours ago, fleabag said:

Pedants head on.