Why become a member? ×

Tuning pegs

Hey folks.

I have a Yamaha BB435 that's taken abit of a hit on the headstock which has knocked one of the tuning pegs loose. It's really rattling now, still working just really annoying! 

I wanna get hipshot ultralights as an upgrade but I'm unsure what size I would require and I cant seem to find anything on the google.

I'm guessing it would be the 1/2" size?

Also are the licensed ones a real drop in quality? They are quite pricey for the full set with the shipping as I can't seem to fine a UK supplier.

Thanks

I have no experience of Yamaha basses, so I can't help I'm afraid, but I do have one question: is the loose tuning peg rattling because the tuning peg itself is broken/damaged, or because it's been knocked out of place, with possible damage to the fixing screw? If the latter, you will need to find a replacement set of pegs that doesn't use the same screw holes, or you'll have to fill/repair that damaged hole first and make sure it can take another screw safely.

I'm going to move this thread to Repairs And Technical, where it's more likely to get a useful answer by Yamaha users. :)

Easiest way to check what size you need is to just take the machine head off and measure the hole and diameter of the existing post.

I have had licensed Hipshots on basses and they are great tuners, I wouldn’t worry about getting full USA unless there is minimal difference in price or you think you will have any regrets about putting ‘the best’ on the bass.

I seem to remember bass direct sell Hipshot and I am sure I have seen sets of the licensed tuners on there too.

This bass already have lightweight tuners..

I wouldn't put a set of Hipshot on a bass at this price tag as the official ones would be more than a fourth of the bass price itself !!!

Instead try to find where the rattling comes from and put a drop of super glue on the loose part which probably is the ear of the tuning peg itself.

• Like 1